• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

If gold drops value what happens?

Ainsgb

As a total newb to PMs and anything at all to do with finance and investments etc, im struggling with this concept...

If the spot value of gold suddenly drops to say £800oz, what will the mints/dealers etc do with their stock of gold? Will they just keep hold of it until spot rises again or will they charge very high premiums until theyve sold that stock through? In which case will spot price have any relevancy anyway? 

Surely they wouldnt just drop all their prices and sell at a loss.

Can anybody explain this in laymans terms please. I have tried to google it but nothing relevant comes back 

When the silver spot price got smashed in March most dealers seemed to just pretend it hadn’t happened and there wasn’t much (if any) movement on what they were charging for physical.

Gold is obviously a completely different ball game but as the saying goes - 

“Up like a rocket, down like a feather.”

It is by spot

I know 2011-2013 gold was around £1000-1100

In 2013 is dropped about 20% down to £800