• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

Just starting

Hillbilly Sheep

Hi,

I'm brand new to this. I've never bought silver before but over the last day or two I've been looking at as much as I can and I'm ready to start !

I won't be a big buyer, probably only £50 a month, enough for a couple of 1oz coins or bars.

Took a bit of convincing the wife that this is where we should put our money !

Looking to make my first purchase soon !!

I'l keep you updated as my collection grows !

Cheers

My first question(s).

I'll be buying mainly 1oz coins, and I was wondering about certificates of authentication.

Obviously I can trust the trusted online retailers that sell with certs., but what about retailers that don't offer certs. (do all trusted sellers have certs.)?  and even if they do, how do I know that the cert. is authentic ?

I saw a cert on a website for a 1oz 2014 Britannia and I thought that I could make one of them myself  !!  how do I know it's genuine ?   How necessary are certs when reselling ?  

sorry if this is a daft question or in the wrong section.