• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

Howdy, newbie here, tips welcome

oohshiny

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to this forum and to commodity investment in general.

I'm looking to start a collection of precious metals and I've been wondering around the internet looking for a place to start.

I've read that silver is cheap, but rarer than gold, premiums are always higher on bullion over bars, gold is VAT free (UK), some locally minted coinage is CGT free (UK) and lastly, diamonds are bad, avoid or buy only for the value of the metal they come embedded in.

So, with this in mind and a few other things, I'm thinking of dropping a bit of cash a month on either one or two gold sovereigns, or a tub of 20 to 25 1oz silver coins. Maybe once every so often I'll splash out and pick up a 1oz gold coin (or some equally shiny expensive metal). Given I have no coin collecting experience (yet), I'll just stick to bullion quality coins for now.