• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

Calculating Spot price +or-

I am still pretty new to this, however, not that I ignore ‘spot’ but find it is more useful for me when looking at 1oz gold coins/bars. Virtually all my gold is held as full and half sovereigns and 1/10ths. With all of these I tend to have a price in mind in comparison to various sellers on here and on line and won’t pay higher … unless something special. People do mention spot price and sovereigns, however, gets to complicated for me!🤔🤔

A sovereign is 0.2354 oz of gold and GBP spot is £1,625.48.
So there is 0.2354 x £1625,48 worth of gold at spot price - £382.63.

If we flex that up 3% that is £394.12

Is somewhere between £382.63 and £394.12 the right price for a sovereign? 
Well that sounds like an ok price. Would i pay more? Yes of course i would. Would i sometimes be reluctant to pay £382.63? Yes i might well not want to even pay spot.

What is the sovereign? What is the condition? What does my experience in this coin tell me? What is the collector value?