• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

silver hallmarks

I'm no hallmark expert but I know that The Lion Passant at the top indicates it's Sterling Silver, The Leopard on the bottom left indicates it was assayed in London. I would assume the calligraphic L is the makers/sponsors mark but I didn't know that such a style of makers mark was used, like I said I am no expert though.

I look forward to finding out.

Edited by billysilver
spelling

This is interesting. Good to learn the calligraphic L indicates a date, the makers mark almost looks like the Birmingham assay mark no? Are there makers hallmarks that aren't lettered initials?

2 minutes ago, KevinFlynn said:

Walking Lion - Sterling Silver from England

Leopards Head (uncrowned) - from London, after 1820

L - 1846

No idea on the makers mark though.

The closest I have identified so far on the makers mark is a company called Gorham, it's certainly not definitive but they do use the anchor in shield over several years and formations of the company, so I just thought I would add this information in case.